Supporting the independent education community

IEU nominated for ACTU Congress media awards

The IEUA NSW/ACT Branch has been nominated for the 2018 ACTU Congress media awards, in two categories, by Unions NSW Secretary Mark Morey. The nomination comes after the great success of the IEUA NSW/ACT Branch’s Catholic schools campaign which saw members unite across NSW and the ACT to take stop work actions and vote down a non-Union endorsed Enterprise Agreement (EA). A resounding 88% voted ‘NO’ to the employers’ EA.

Members in effect stopped employers stripping away teachers and support staff rights, especially the right to arbitration.

Then further into this complex dispute, littered by employer obstacles and industrial technicalities, a strong and united 98% of teachers and support staff in Catholic systemic schools voted ‘YES’ to a Union endorsed EA.

Mark Morey said in his nomination letter to the Assistant Secretary of ACTU Scott Connolly:

“I would like to nominate and commend to you the application from the IEUA NSW/ACT Branch for the ACTU Congress Awards in the following categories:

  • ACTU Campaign of the Year Award for the Outstanding Affiliate Campaign.
  • Andrew Casey Award for Outstanding Excellence in all Aspects of Movement Communications.

I believe the IEUA NSW/ACT Branch showed outstanding imagination and tenacity during its 2017/18 Catholic schools enterprise bargaining campaign which also made a significant contribution to the Change the Rules campaign. The IEUA NSW/ACT grew the resolve of existing members while recruiting thousands of new members during their campaign.

This all-encompassing campaign, which was so much more than a battle for wages and conditions, went to the fundamentals of workers’ rights and deserves consideration for the ACTU Campaign of the Year Award for the Outstanding Affiliate Campaign.”

The recipients of the awards will be announced at the 2018 ACTU Congress in Brisbane, held on 17 – 18 July.

To read Unions NSW Secretary Mark Morey’s letter of nomination click here

Watch the campaign video submitted for the awards below