Supporting the independent education community

Join ECS Council

You can contribute by becoming part of the IEU’s Early Childhood Sector Council.

The Council meets three or four times a year in Sydney and the IEU will pay for a relief teacher to cover your service while you are away, as well as your expenses for travel and accommodation.

You get to meet other like-minded early childhood professionals from around NSW and the ACT and provide advice and guidance to the Union on developing early childhood policy and campaigns.

The ECS Council is composed of eight members that are elected by and from members employed in early childhood services plus the ECS vice president. ECS members elect councillors from the following areas:

•    Three members are elected from the Sydney Metropolitan area including the Penrith/Blue Mountains area
•    One member is elected from the South Coast including the Campbelltown area, and
•    One member is elected from the Hunter Valley or Central Coast area.

Three members are elected from regional country areas other than those mentioned above.

If you are interested in standing for ECS Council contact Joanna Kotsakis or Verena Heron or ring them on 8202 8900 for a nomination form.

Nominations close on 27 April 2018.

Elections, if required, will be held in Term 2, 2018.